top of page


In November 2017, Turama Hawira and Dame Tariana Turia were officially inaugurated into the the joint role of Te Pou Tupua at a ceremony at Ngāpuwaiwaha Marae in Taumarunui. 

It followed a series of hui including Te Rūnanga o Te Awa Tupua, a Te Awa Tupua  leadership hui, and a virtual meeting with the relevant Minister.  The appointment was made jointly by both the Iwi with interests in the Whanganui River (including  Whanganui Iwi) and the Crown. 

This symbolised not only the Treaty partnership between Iwi and the Crown, but also the Crown’s ongoing responsibility to uphold Te Awa Tupua. Following the initial term, Turama Hawira was re-appointed alongside Keria Ponga to jointly perform the role of Te Pou Tupua for the three years from October 2021. 

Acknowledgement of Kahurangi Tariana Turia

Together with the iwi of Te Awa Tupua, we acknowledge the depth of experience and knowledge that Kahurangi (Dame) Tariana Turia contributed during her inaugural term as Te Pou Tupua from 2017 to 2021.  Kahurangi Tariana worked tirelessly to advocate for the Whanganui River and to uphold the principles of Tupua te Kawa.  We thank her for her leadership.

The Office of Te Pou Tupua

The Office of Te Pou Tupua has a small team including Mitch Roderick-Hall, Te Taituarā o Te Pou Tupua (Executive Assistant) and Te Karewao, the Advisory Team of Siani Walker, Annette Main and Wiari Rauhina.
bottom of page